• I learned that you can never be too prepared.
  • I learned that the sooner you prepare, the better.  Let people make fun and say you are overreacting.  I’d rather be in the Walmart returns line than the food and ice line.
  • I learned that many people still depend entirely too much on government to take care of them.
  • I learned that my son, for all his cool swagger, is one helluva Monopoly player.
  • I learned that being forcibly unplugged from tv, cellphones, computers, Twitter, blogs, and everyday life reintroduces you to those folks you took for granted — your family.
  • I learned that I have the most incredible neighbors in the world.
  • I learned that a peanut butter and jelly sandwich still tastes damned good.
  • I learned that a hurricane can wipe out homes, cars, buildings, 80-foot trees, and even Walmart.
  • I learned that a hurricane is no match for those effin’ lovebugs.
  • I learned that you can meet some really nice people standing in line for a window air-conditioning unit.
  • I learned that the right governor CAN, and DID, make all the difference.
  • I learned that you are never too old to play Uno.
  • I learned that a storm brings out the best in people.
  • I learned that a storm can bring out the worst in people.
  • I learned that I never knew how much I loved my too-small-and-in-need-of-updating house until I thought it was about to crash in on top of us.
  • I learned that 95 mph winds make a lot of noise.  A LOT.
  • I learned that the Stephenie Meyer trilogy is every bit as good as everyone said it was.

Finally…

  • I learned that people who have disdain for blogging, and bloggers, haven’t met the people I’VE met.  Thank you, all.  For your comments, e-mails, text messages, Twitter tweets.  They meant more to me than you’ll ever know.
