And now, we resume our regularly scheduled programming. Without any reference to this, or this, or this. I can’t promise you that this will be a football-free zone until THE BIG DAY, but I appreciate and respect the diversity of my readers. Which brings me to the point of this post.

Diversity.

Guys, most of you know my politics. Even better, you’re nice to me in spite of my politics. But you also know that I appreciate diversity, I don’t judge people in any way shape or form (unless they drive a minivan, but that’s another whole post), I appreciate our differences. I celebrate our differences.

But dammit, I also celebrate Christmas. There. I said it. Not “the holidays”. Christmas.

LSU was the most recent entity, for lack of a better word, to attempt to change their annual Christmas Tree to a Holiday Tree. Fortunately, they put it to da people, and there was a resounding vote against changing the name of the traditional tree. So it was a Christmas tree once again.

As it should have been.

I don’t go trampling all over other holidays. I think there’s a place for your Hanukkah right next to his Ramadan and just to the other side of their Kwanzaa. And I would never, ever think of asking those with different beliefs to change the name of their holiday to one that I felt reflected MY beliefs as well.

Just as winter is winter, and Monday is Monday, and January 7 is the day LSU becomes the National Champions (oops, sorry, I slipped there), Christmas is Christmas.

Happy Hanukkah to those of you who celebrate it.  (See?  Didn’t hurt me a bit.)

