________________

Search term du jour: “reasons for water around your liver”

________________

I hit another personal milestone last week in celebrating my wedding anniversary, and aside from realizing that I’m really getting freakin’ old, it’s given me a lot of time to think about the state of my life. Today. So imagine when I found this little meme over at Angela’s. It couldn’t have come at a better time — I’m fresh outta things to post about (with the exception of BCS/LSU/football stuff, which only appeals to some totally cool readers).

Anyways. I love this, and I hope you do too. Try it. (Those of you that can’t, because you haven’t even been on this earth for 30 years, just leave quietly, please.)

30 years ago I…

…was a freshman at LSU, taking in everything that college life had to offer. In the three months since I had become a student, I suddenly knew everything, changed my accent, and rolled my eyes at everything my small hometown was.

20 years ago I…

…had been married four years, was considering whether to change jobs or quit working altogether and go to law school, and wondering where kids would fit into all of that.

10 years ago I…

…had been working at my present job for nine years, and was the mom of a five-year-old and a three-year-old, and knew the last thing in the world I wanted to do was go to law school. Oh. And I had recently moved very close to the hokey little small town I had rolled my eyes at. And never looked back.

5 years ago I…

…had been through not one but two cancer scares, 9/11, and was dealing with my mom’s failing health. Four months later, we would bury her. And I was realizing that sometimes it really, really sucks to be a grownup.

2 years ago I…

…had just been through Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, began blogging, and was dealing with a lot of intense family issues.

1 year ago I…

…was feeling a lot better about my life.

1 month ago I…

…saw my baby, and the baby of the entire family, turn into a teenager.

1 week ago I…

…celebrated my 24th wedding anniversary.

1 day ago I…

…attended an incredible Veterans’ Day service at my church, and spent the rest of the day running Miss Priss from one activity to another. Oh. And spraining my ankle.

1 hour ago I …

… took some more medicine for my throbbing ankle and started this post.

And right now?

I’m thinking that life is pretty darn good. Except for the whole ankle thing.

 

 

 

