Although most of you know my political leanings, I tend to try to avoid political discussion here at the old Jambalaya Cafe.   Political bloggers are so much better at this stuff than I am, anyway, and you’re not really coming here to see if I can point you in the direction of a good presidential candidate.  anyone but hillary godforbid anyone but hillary Ahem.  Did y’all hear something?  No?  Ok.  Me neither.

Anyway, it takes a lot to get me to post something political.  But an article in today’s news has me fuming, I mean FUMING.  Political correctness, in all its crazyassedness, has finally been taken to a level that I simply. Cannot. Abide.

Dumbledore is gay.

That’s fine, actually.  I honestly don’t care WHAT gets his robes moving.   Except that he is a fictional character.  So, in that respect, he doesn’t have to have an orientation at all.  If he does, fine.  If it matters to the story.  But it doesn’t, and it didn’t.  One simple line, which could have been taken a million ways?  Clarified now, after the fact, to a group of kids?  For no apparent reason?

The author may have meant well.  She may have wanted to open the door to readers who may be dealing with these questions in their own lives.  Well, good for her.  Because now, some parents are going to have to address some serious questions that they may have wanted to put off for a few more years.

If I’m questioning my own orientation, I don’t think I’m going to look to the Harry Potter series for validation.

Unless I’m a two-hundred-year-old wizard.

