Ok, the head cold is going to my chest and I feel, if that’s possible, even worse than I did a couple of days ago. I’m going to drag myself into work in about an hour to get a couple of fires put out and then go home and climb into bed.

What does this mean to you? Absolutely nothing. But it is a somewhat lame explanation for the total random crap that I’m posting here today.

While I’ve been home, there’s been a considerable lack of things I feel like doing. When I do get up, I pretty much just surf the internet (reading, not writing, obviously) and attempt to watch tv. But man, oh man, does that get depressing.

I’m only in the mood for snippets of information — hence my absence from your sites — as I’m not really able to concentrate on any one thing for very long. So I go to the news sites.

And whoa. Erase and rewind. What. The. Bloody. Hell?

When did it become standard practice to have a fight with your significant other and end it by, um, dousing said significant other with gasoline and setting him or her on fire? There were four different reports of this happening in one way or another.

Guys, I’m not trying to be glib here. This is horrible. And that’s my point. What makes people do things like this? Or what makes a man try to kill his girlfriend and then throw the girlfriend’s child into alligator-infested waters? There’s more. And it doesn’t get any better.

What the hell is wrong here? I mean, there has always been violence, domestic and otherwise. But when did the gloves come off? When did it get like this?

So I go to tv, deliberately avoiding the news channels, because there’s more of that PLUS Bush-Thompson-Gore-Obama-Clinton-immigration-good war-bad war ickiness. (Yes, I called it ickiness. So there.)

But. That ends up being what’s actually watchable. Because, at least here, there are a hundred channels, 97 of which are unwatchable. Local government. Really bad preaching. Infomercials. (I did, by the way, order the Kaboom toilet cleaner, but I was feverish.) Game shows. Hannah-freakin’-Montana. More bad preaching and local government. I think I actually came across bad preaching AT a meeting of local government. Those people sweat. A lot.

So it’s off. TV’s off. I’m avoiding the news as much as possible, although I DID have to break my vow and read the New York Times’ book review of what’s his name? That wizard kid. (Which, coincidentally, is going to be the perfect escape from reality for the next few days.)

So I’ll be back. Sometime. But in the meantime, I can promise you I won’t be reading, or watching, sweaty governmental officials preaching on infomercials.

