(*With apologies to Hyperion, who goes nuts when people call these things ‘memes.’ But he’s in Siberia or somewhere like that, so …)

Thanks to Not a Soccer Mom for posting this great idea!

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?
I have to have a sip or two of egg nog sometime during the season, but chocolate anything always wins out. I did see an egg nog ice cream sandwich at the store the other day, and was tempted…anyone tried it yet?

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?
When the kiddies were younger, Santa left his gifts unwrapped while mom & dad’s gifts were wrapped. These days, everything is wrapped. Except for the year hubby gave me one of my gifts in the bag it came home in. But that’s another story.

3. Colored lights on tree/house colored or white?
It’s been all white for years now, but I’m really liking the retro-look big colored bulbs, and am, therefore, considering a change.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?
Nope.

5. When do you put your decorations up?
I don’t have much choice in the matter. Mr. Cool turns into a big squooshy baby when it comes to Christmas and insists that the house is decorated to perfection the weekend after Thanksgiving. This year, he took on the outdoor decorating all by himself. And if Santa brings me a less-embarrassing digital camera for Christmas, you may just see for yourselves.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish? I love the traditional holiday meal – turkey, cornbread dressing, all the trimmings – but I also love all the goodies that seem to make their way to my house this time of year.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child? Hearing a clatter outside the house when I was around four and my parents and grandparents making a big fuss of it before sending us outside to see shiny new bicycles.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I don’t really remember, but it was not a big deal. I just kinda figured the whole thing out.

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Growing up, never. But it’s something we’ve started doing in my own family now. We go to Christmas Eve mass, ride around and look at the lights, come home and sprinkle reindeer food (yeah, I know, but we’ve always done it this way), and open one gift.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree? I sometimes have two or three trees, so…my family lets me pretty much have my way with our main tree, and I do it up beautifully, if I do say so myself. Then there’s the LSU tree, which you saw recently. The third tree is evolving. I’ve made a photo ornament of each child every year since they were born, and they always hung on the big tree. But I now have twenty-six of them (he’s 14, she’s 12, sniffle, sniffle), so they are being moved to a third tree which will also showcase all their homemade ornaments made through the years. Yeah. I thought you’d like that.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it? I love it, but that’s because we only get snow here every few years. I don’t think I would like it on a regular basis.

12. Can you ice skate? Never tried it. So, no.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? Not particularly. Keep giving them to me, and maybe I’ll come up with a favorite, though, okay?

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you? Sitting back and really enjoying Christmas for what it really is — the spirit, the togetherness, and the beauty of it.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert? A big plate of homemade cookies and candies my sister and I make to give as gifts.

16. What is your favorite Holiday Tradition? See #9.

17. What tops your tree? An angel in a calico dress that topped the very first tree we had after we got married.

18. Which do you prefer, giving or receiving ? The giving. Absolutely.

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song? Lots of ’em, actually. I can’t pick one in particular. My favorite contemporary Christmas songs are David Bowie & Bing Crosby singing “Little Drummer Boy/Peace on Earth,” Vince Vance & The Valiants’ “All I Want For Christmas Is You,” and Metallica & Transiberian Orchestra’s “Carol of the Bells.”

20. Candy Canes! Yuck or Yum? Pretty much yuck.

Wanna try this yourself now?

