… or dear Dr. House, to be more specific. Tonight, I did something I thought I’d never do. I’m so ashamed. But please, please, let me explain.
You see, it was Tuesday, our regular night to rendezvous. I’ve been faithfully yours, all this time, you know. When others came and went, when they lost interest and moved on, I stayed with you. Through the good times and bad. I was furious when Cuddy and Wilson decided to keep the truth from you when you were right about the guy with cancer. I stayed by you when you were hooked on Vicodin and when you weren’t. And I love you with or without your cane.

But tonight? I don’t know what got into me. See, you were not around. Baseball had replaced you, and I had nowhere to turn. And I was lonely. So, just out of curiosity, and believe me I never meant for anything to happen, well, I strayed. I watched Friday Night Lights. And something has happened. Something I never expected. Please believe me. I wouldn’t hurt you. Not deliberately.

But I fell in love.

I fell in love with the show, with the characters, with the whole package. The players, the coach, the interactions of a small town that I recognize only too well. I mean geez — you know what a football fanatic I am. I attend our high school games on Friday nights, watch college games on Saturdays, and watch pro ball every chance I get. You really can’t blame a girl, you know.

I know I could have, I should have, just turned off the tv. Picked up a book. But it’s too late. And I have only myself to blame. I was weak. And I’m sorry.

We can work this out. Maybe you will move to the 8:00 time slot when American Idol starts up. Maybe I’ll even give in and get Tivo. We can do this.

Just please don’t be mad.

