You know, I’ve been so goshdarn busy lately that I really thought I was just going to have to take a break from all this for awhile. I figured if I didn’t have time to read my ‘regulars’, much less any new guys, and then not be able to write here or at the other places that I’m somewhat committed to…PHEW!…then I might as well just check out for a while, till things got calmer.

But then, a couple things happened. First, I realized I’d miss all this. I’d miss the interaction, the comments, the fun! I’d get behind on everyone’s lives. Uh, I’d have to find mine.

Then, I saw this. And I realized that I don’t have to write all the time (and I already knew I didn’t have to write about anything in particular, as many posts can attest), but that, every once in awhile, something comes along that just totally inspires a person. And this was it. I mean, how dadgum sweet IS this, anyway? I mean, if this quote doesn’t just bring chills to your spine and tears to your eyes, you’re one cold bubba.

“After 65 years, I have found the sister who I love,” Simon Glasberg said Monday in heavily accented English, his eyes filling with tears. “I can’t stop kissing her.”

Can you stand the sweetness? Doesn’t it just make you want to hug Al G*re and thank him for inventing the internet?

For all the terrible things that the internet can provide access to, there are millions of stories like this one. I personally have reconnected with so many people who had moved on and I just assumed I’d never speak to again. And I’ve already talked about the gazillion friends I’ve made online — folks I’d otherwise never have known. And that’s hella cool.

So today, I’m forgetting about bad football calls and crappy drivers and the heat and humidity that I swear will never leave. And I’m relishing in good news like this story.

This made my day. Hope it helps yours.

