Ok, let’s start with my saying I LOVE food. Everything about it. I was raised here in the south, where everything revolves around food. Family gatherings, sports events, Sunday “dinner” (the meal usually served around one o’clock, and the only time we ever referred to the midday meal as ‘dinner’). You name it, food was there.


My mother was an incredible cook, able to taste something in a restaurant and then go home and immediately duplicate it sans recipe. Family meals were varied: one day was a divine Spanish paella, the next a spicy Louisiana gumbo. Friends always lagged around at dinner time, knowing that they’d stay for the meal, only to push away from the table hours (yes, hours) later, having eaten (and laughed) more than they thought humanly possible.


Some of my favorite childhood memories involve food, and I’m happy to say that I acquired most of my mother’s talent in the kitchen. I love to cook. I love cookbooks. And I watched cooking shows when they were only on PBS and cheaply produced in someone’s basement. Nowadays, the Food Network is on my television most of the time.

That said, when I came across this little meme over at Shepard’s place, I knew I had to use it. I’ll never come close to his witty responses, so I’m not even going to try. But here goes. And by the way, I’d love to hear your answers as well. No tagging – I promise not to do that unless I don’t hear from many of you!

The Food Meme

How do you like your eggs? Any way except soft-boiled or poached (totally, unbelievably disgusting, thankyouverymuch). Preferably over easy. Cooked in olive oil. (Thanks, mama!)

How do you take your coffee/tea? Coffee: NEVER, EVER chilled or frozen. Hot. Plain, drip coffee needs to be black and strong. But I’m not opposed to a nice mocha latte, extra chocolate, add whipped cream. Tea: Iced, with sweet n’ lo & lots of lemon.

Favorite breakfast foods: I love breakfast but rarely have a large one. Fried eggs, ham, o’brien potatoes, toast, coffee (black, remember?).

Peanut butter: smooth or crunchy? Extra crunchy (Jif only), with grape jelly, on fresh white bread.

What kind of dressing on your salad? Blue cheese, ranch, or Italian.

Coke or Pepsi? Coke.

You’re feeling lazy. What do you make? Grilled cheese sandwich or a bacon, lettuce, & tomato sandwich. Or pasta tossed with olive oil, basil, and grated parmesan.

You’re feeling really lazy. What kind of pizza do you order? I hate most “chain” pizza. Louisiana Pizza Kitchen has a wonderful wood-fired roasted garlic, feta, spinach, & sun dried tomato pizza; otherwise, a pepperoni, canadian bacon (not ham, Papa Johns — there’s a difference!!!), mushroom & onion on thin crust.

You feel like cooking. Either something Italian (pasta, lasagna) or a big heap of thin-fried catfish and shrimp with hush puppies and home-style french fries.

Do any foods bring back good memories? Many. Roast, rice & gravy, and fresh green beans bring back memories of many a Sunday dinner. And a traditional Thanksgiving meal always brings me back.

Do any foods bring back bad memories? Black-eyed peas. Trying to swallow a mouthful (because I was forced to try) with milk and them coming right back up. Because of that experience, I have never MADE my children try anything.

Do any foods remind you of someone?
A good homemade pound cake or chocolate pie will always remind me of my grandmother. A big platter of homemade fried chicken reminds me of this wonderful elderly lady we knew that cooked the best chicken.

Is there a food you refuse to eat? Sushi. I’ve tried it. Blech. And do NOT try to tell me I haven’t tried the right sushi. Double-blech.

What was your favorite food as a child? Fried chicken, mashed potatoes, corn, and a buttered roll.

Is there a food that you hated as a child but now love? I hated most beans. Disliked spaghetti and anything with a red sauce.

Is there a food that you loved as a child but now hate? This is so disgusting I can hardly type it. Chicken skin. Excuse me, I’m going to gag & hurl now.

So how about you?

