My hubby and Mr. Cool ran into one of my best friends from high school the other day. Since she and I remained friends through college, hubby has gotten a chance to get to know her as well, and they visited for a few minutes. At one point, she turned to Mr. Cool, who is now 14, and said, “Boy, you and I are going to have to sit down and chat sometime. I could tell you a million stories about your mom in high school. She was WILD!” Mr. Cool didn’t think too much of it because, frankly, it was one of MY friends talking. I’m totally uncool, ergo she’s totally uncool.
But I, on the other hand, am mad as hell. And you know I’m going to tell you why. You’re smart that way.

It’s because I. Fully. Intend. To. Lie. To. My. Children.

Yep. I do. I intend to deny that I participated in any of the illegal, illicit, and/or immoral things that I may or may not have done.

And there’s a good reason for this. That reason is that none of my teen/college extra-curricular activities ever had a bad result for me. I never got caught, nor did I catch anything. I never had to deal with an arrest or an unplanned pregnancy. I never got hold of bad drugs or an STD. I was lucky.

So there were no lessons to be learned.

I suppose I lived my life just on the edge. I didn’t tempt fate (too much). And I didn’t drink and drive (but I did ride with people who did). I didn’t do hard, addictive drugs. I was not promiscuous.

But I wouldn’t want my kids to do what I did. And I’m not saying they won’t. But it won’t be because they can say, “Well, mom did it and she turned out okay.” Maybe one day, long after they are old enough to have made their own choices and dealt with the repercussions, I may tell them the truth. But not here. And not now.

And I suppose that I’m angry at my friend because while she did everything I did (with some bad results, I might add), she found some 24-hour Christianity halfway through college, left the fold, and proceeded to judge the rest of us. Later, when she had kids of her own and the time had run on her conversion, she decided to be much more laid back.

Denial is not, as they say, just a river in Egypt. But it’s gonna work just fine here where I live.

