Random thoughts. It’s all I got this evening, folks. Bear with me, and I hope that somewhere along the way, you find something that interests you. If not, it’s okay, because it’s all, well, random.

First, Miss Priss is angry at me. Because I told her she cannot get a kitten. Okay wait. Before you guys start in on me, especially you “cat people,” listen up. I have two huge dogs that would love to make a tasty snack out of a kitten. Until last July, I had three huge dogs. We’ve had fish. We’ve had it all. But not a cat. And quite frankly, although she swears that she’ll take care of it, I don’t need another living thing depending on me. Because ultimately I will be the one taking care of it. And thanks, dad, for saying, “it’s okay with me if it’s okay with your mom.” The only reason
she is still speaking to me is because I allowed her to go to a sleepover that involved a limousine ride all over the city. I’m not sure if I’ll ever speak to dad again.

I’m in the middle of the summer doldrums already. Those of you in the nicer, cooler areas that have not seen a 90-degree day yet, stop laughing. It’s hot and humid and there’s already a stirring in the Carribean that could turn into something. That’s not cool. I’ve already turned a lazy eye to the weeds that are creeping into the flower beds and vegetable garden. Yes, it did seem like a great idea in April, when the weather was mild and I was delusional. What was I thinking when I decided to plant even more vegetables this year? Next year, I’m getting on serious meds.

I’ve decided that one of the reasons that I’ve been so blue lately has got to be my son’s passing from middle school to high school. I cannot deal with this. I know it sounds like a cliche’, but he really did grow up overnight. It seems like just yesterday that I was getting him ready for his first day of school, as a skateboard-haircutted little five-year-old. And I cannot get the fact out of my mind that he will pretty much be gone in four years. And the fact that Miss Priss is entering middle school (junior high to some of you guys) doesn’t help in the least.

But she’s still not getting a kitten.

