Your Aura is Blue

Your Personality: Your natural warmth and intuition nurtures those around you. You are accepting and always follow your heart.

You in Love: Relationships are your top priority, and this includes love. You are most happy when you are serious with someone.

Your Career: You need to help others in your job to feel satistifed. You would be a great nurse, psychologist, or counselor.

What Color Is Your Aura?

(I’m sorry, but it was really a neat quiz. I had to do it, I just had to. And this one was so dead-on balls accurate [props to one of the best movies EVAH] that I just had to share.)

Auras were really big back in the New Age decade. I loved New Age for very simple reasons. That’s when I was birthin’ babies, and the music was extremely relaxing to me at times when I was a hormone hostage and crazy as a freakin’ bedbug. Plus, I loved the stores. Space music, fountains, great smelling potpourri, incredibly gay men and hippie chicks showing you the love. Great stores for browsing. And people were just all up in your aura. I’d buy potpourri or amber jewelry and not throw away the bags because, damn, even they smelled good.

Now, when I pop in a CD from back then, I remember new babies and new motherhood and a time when they didn’t talk back. And I reminisce. I miss being pregnant, and having a newborn baby, and watching Dr. Brazelton and Penelope Leach and “thirtysomething” reruns on Lifetime. I remember planning out the futures of my kids, solemnly swearing that they would never eat junk food or drink carbonated beverages, that there would always be a supply of fresh veggies cut up and available for snacking, and that they would be happy with that. And I would never raise my voice.

No, I was not on crack.

Fast forward fourteen years and I am smack dab in the middle of reality. Miss Priss eats a total of five things. Vegetables are not one of them. Mr. Cool eats everything, burps, and asks what’s for dinner. Things are rarely quiet, because even when the kids are silent, there is the constant tic-tac-tic-tac of computer keyboards and electronic hellos from instant messengers. The upside is that they are capable of bathing themselves and I no longer have to ask if someone needs to go potty. They have personalities, quirks, and social lives that I, for the most part, am not privy to. They are honest, good kids.

But when I think back to the time when my “blue aura” was at its peak, when crystals held the power to fix all the wrongs, and my babies were, well, babies, I can’t help but be a bit melancholy. Because that’s the past. My past. And it was good.

And because a fourteen-year-old boy does NOT smell like potpourri.

P.S. to Tiff (and anyone else that appreciates the utter coolness of it): Please note that this post was completed at 11:11 on the 11th.

