“…what you’ve just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul…”

And with that, I give you . . . my Friday post — with extra points to those of you who can correctly i.d. that quote! I’m all over the place today. I’ve started to pay bills, stopped, then checked my calendar for things that really need to get done today, then pushed that aside. Face it — it’s Mardi Gras weekend and I don’t think I could formulate a good thought if I had one. So this post is totally random, totally devoid of anything you’ll ever need to know, totally worthless.

A couple of days ago, both Erica and Tiff posted a cool little thing that allowed readers to select characteristics, both positive and negative, about them. I think that eventually all of the characteristics were culled together and Erica and Tiff would see how accurate their selections were. I didn’t do it, because frankly, I don’t really know them well enough. I certainly could have come up with the positives, based on what I read in their posts and e-mails, but I don’t know how accurate they would have been. And the negatives were just plain mean, ya know? But it got me thinking that although we spend a lot of time (read: way, way too much) with our online pursuits, we don’t know a lot of people all that well.

Given that, I decided that today you guys should know some totally random, useless information about me. Who knows where that will take you one day? Um, no, officers, I really didn’t know her all that well . . . I never would have thought she’d have been the type to climb atop a tower, screaming all the while about some fatass in a Voyager. . .” Wait. Erase and rewind. Bad, baaaad example.

Ok, ok, there’s no real way to set this up. So let’s just bring the attempt to a screeching halt and get on with it. Here, without further ado, are Some Things That I Like and Some Things That I Don’t Like. In no particular order and, frankly, for no apparent reason.

Stuff I like:

  • Staying in hotels
  • Hospital food
  • Eating ice cream out of the carton
  • The smell of a church
  • When it’s 11:11 on a digital clock
  • The sound of a real typewriter
  • The sound of car wheels on gravel
  • Cheap, convenience store cappucino
  • potluck suppers
  • my coffee and the newspaper, early in the morning, before anyone else is up

Stuff I don’t like:

  • Sushi
  • Self-absorbed people
  • Doctors’ office waiting rooms containing only golfing magazines
  • People that forward e-mails without verifying their accuracy
  • Butterscotch candies (the gnarly, nasty yellow ones wrapped in clear yellow paper)
  • Fake tans
  • Asking people for money they owe me
  • Iced coffee
  • The “Precious Moments” collection
  • jewelry on young children

There. You now know twenty more things about me than you did when you started reading this.

Have a great weekend!

