Let’s just get this straight right now. I’m on a rampage now, and there’s nothing I can do about it. I guess the first thing I have to do is sit here with you, my loyal readers, and be completely honest and up front with you. I mean, if I can’t be totally open here, why am I even writing? That’s what these forums are for. To tell it how it is without fear of being judged. So without further ado, let me just ‘fess up. I am angry and intolerant. No more tap-dancing around it. Dammit, the world makes me mad 90% of the time, and until everyone shapes up and does things my way, it’s gonna continue. There. I feel better. So if you log onto this page with any frequency, expect this most of the time. I don’t foresee little puppies bounding through fields of clover on here any time soon. I’m just too pissed off.

I’m breaking one of my rules today, but I have a reason. I said this would not be a “my-kid-did-this-or-that” forum. Those of you that have been with me from the start know my reasons behind that. But this is different. It just shows a side of people that I just cannot tolerate and is really bothering me. See, my daughter is a cheerleader for the 5th/6th grade at her school. The squad works really hard (yes, it’s hard for some of you out there to think that, but they really do). Yesterday, we were at a school football game. The squad lined up on the sidelines at the start of the game. As soon as they got into position, all the parents of the football players got up, in unison, and moved down to a separate section of the bleachers, away from the girls. What do you think this said to those girls? I know they want to watch their boys, but damn. Couldja be any freakin’ ruder? It was 85 degrees (yes, it’s November, but down here we don’t have seasons — just frontal systems). The girls were hot, tired, and cheering their hearts out for a team that threw 7 interceptions before the first half was over. And these football parents couldn’t have the common courtesy to show the girls a little appreciation. Now I’m a football lover. I watched every play (well, until I couldn’t stand to watch anymore). I saw everything that happened, yet I was able to applaud and cheer for the girls. I heard later that the coaches get annoyed if the cheerleaders are too loud, and that some of the boys say the cheerleaders are bad luck — that they lose when the girls cheer. Ummm, excuse me, monkey boy? I don’t know where you’ve been, but at the game I was watching, you got beat 41-8 and had, at last count, about 745 turnovers.

I’m also mad about other things. (Nice segue, right? Got a problem with it?!?!?!? I didn’t think so.) Jennifer Aniston, in all her brilliance, has blamed everything, once again, on the Bush administration. Thank the heavens above that public policy is not influenced entirely by the entertainment industry. If it were, well, I’d be breaking another of my self-imposed not-a-blog rules — ranting about politics. In the meantime, sssshhhh. . .listen. That’s the sound of no one caring what you think.

Then there’s my beloved alma mater, LSU. Seems there’s a flag that some fans have on their vehicles at tailgating on weekends that is “offensive” to some folks. See, you know how we live in the deep south so we must all be racist rednecks? I’m not going to get into the details, because it’s just that dumb. But a few people have gone off the deep end and tried to turn this little thing into a big thing. And it’s nothing short of ridiculous. I’m sure Jesse is on his way down as we speak. People, get a life. Please.

I could go on. But I’ll stop here, because it ensures that I’ll have material for later in the week. Somehow, I have a feeling that I’ll have stuff to bitch about for a long, long time.

Happy Monday! And guys? Cheer up! You’re bringing me down.

